Parent's Corner

Weekly Update

JHS190 update : Sep.13,2022

JHS190 Updates & Resources - September 13, 2022 

Russell Sage Instagram: Follow us @ jhs190russellsage         School Website : https://www.russellsagems.org/home

 

In This Update

Clickable text to navigate you to the section of the topic. 


Communication Sheet

.

Staff Email

.

PTA/SLT Elections 

We need your  HELP! 

.

Parent Workshop 

Learn how you can support your child

.

Staff Office hours & Extra Activities 

.

School Device Support 

.

NYCstudents.net: Password Reset Option

.

Gym Uniform- order online

 .

Redistricting Town Hall on Wednesday

.

Six Weeks to Family Fitness Program

September Calendar

 

  • September 16 - Parent Workshop at 10 AM -  Learn how to support your child in the new school year!

 

  • September 21- PTA/ SLT Election  at 7 PM ***Submit registration to attend. All nominations are taken from the floor. 

 

  • September 26  & 27 -Rosh Hashanah, schools closed

 

 

*** Parent Teacher Conferences will be held in November and March. However, you can always schedule your conference during teachers’ office hours.  Their contact information is listed below. 

 

Communication Sheet

Your concerns can be addressed to staff as follows: 

 

JHS 190 RUSSELL SAGE - ORGANIZATION SHEET- 2022-2023

 
 

If your concern is not listed below, please call the main office (718)-830-4970 to be forwarded to the correct person.

 

PROTOCOL

         
 

Position

Contact Person

Contact Email / Extension

Concern

 

FIRST

2nd Period Teacher

Individual to Student - 

-Daily Attendance (absence & or lateness)

 

Teacher

Individual to Student - See Staff Directory

in our website or Staff email list.

-Curriculum -Homework Policy -Student Progress (behavior, attendance, grades ) -Student to Student Issues -Google Classroom Codes

 
 

Pupil Accounting

Ms. Camus

mcamus@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 1483

-Provide documentation for absences (excused/unexcused) -Student Registration -Student Discharge

 

School Aide

Ms. Palandro Ms. Maria

Distributed during student lunch / main office ext. 0

-Metro Cards - Ms. Palandro -Working Papers - Ms. Maria

 
 

Ms. Brianna

Distributed during student lunch / main office ext. 0

- Student ID Card

 

Nurse

Mr. Tabaku

atabaku@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 1541

-Student medical documentation

 
 

Secretary

Ms. Gabby

GLoiacono@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 1482

-CAASS -Student Registration

 
 

Parent Coordinator

Ms. Obata

sobata@schools.nyc.gov / ext.1561

-Parent Workshops -PTA /SLT Assitance -CAASS -NYC Schools Account

 
           

SECOND

Dean - Grades 6-8

Dr. Alban

palban@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 1404

-Student to student behavior issues -Mediation -Grade Level Activities

 

SPEAK TO GRADE LEVEL GUIDANCE COUNSELORS, DEAN OR SOCIAL WORKER

Guidance - Grade 6

Ms. Del Rio

icolomedelrio@schools.nyc.gov / 1403

-Mediation -Counselling Services -Social/Emotional Support -Class Concerns -Google Classroom Codes -DOE Student Account (nycstudents.net)

 

Guidance - Grade 7

Ms. Goldstein

mgoldstein5@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 1402

-Mediation -Counselling Services -Social/Emotional Support -Class Concerns -Google Classroom Codes -DOE Student Account (nycstudents.net)

 

Guidance - Grade 8

Ms. Ebony

ecochran2@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 1522

-High School Application -Mediation -Counselling Services -Social/Emotional Support -Class Concerns -Google Classroom Codes -DOE Student Account (nycstudents.net)

 

Social Worker - Grades 6-8

Mr. Botta

jbotta3@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 1523

-Social Emotional Support -Mediation -Crisis Intervention Services -Counselling Services

 
           

THIRD

Assistant Principal - Grade 6

Ms. Malizia

lmalizia@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 3061

-Concerns regarding ELA and Social Studies teachers -Grade 6 Questions/Concerns/Events -Student / Teacher Issues for Grade 6 students

 

SPEAK TO GRADE LEVEL ASSISTANT PRINCIPAL

Assistant Principal - Grade 7

Ms. Aulicino

jaulicino@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 3234

-Concerns regarding World Language and ENL teachers -Grade 7 Questions/Concerns/Events -Student / Teacher Issues for Grade 7 students

 

Assistant Principal - Grade 8

Ms. Meneses

cmeneses2@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 2071 / 2072

-Concerns regarding Math and Science teachers -Grade 8 Questions/Concerns/Events -Student / Teacher Issues for Grade 8 students. -CAASS

 
 

Assistant Principal

Ms. Monahan

smonaha@schools.nyc.gov / ext. 1061

-Concerns regarding Special Education, Talent, PE, Safety

 
           

Staff Email 

 

First name

Last name

EMAIL

Department

 

First name

Last name

EMAIL

Department

Peris

Alban

PAlban@schools.nyc.gov

Student Support

 

Emma

Kadin

EKadin@schools.nyc.gov

Science

Perscilla

Allen

pallen10@schools.nyc.gov

Science

 

Jean

Kim

JKim24@schools.nyc.gov

ENL

Nicholas

Amster

namster2@schools.nyc.gov

World Language

 

Belle

Ku

BKu@schools.nyc.gov

Related Services

Sarah

Anwar

SAnwar2@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

 

Katherine

Kurre

kkurre@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

Anait

Arabachian

AArabachian@schools.nyc.gov

Social Studies

 

Emely

Ledesma

ELedesma@schools.nyc.gov

Science

Josephine

Aulicino

JAulicino@schools.nyc.gov

Administration

 

Joy

Loew

JLoew@schools.nyc.gov

Related Services

Joe

Austin

JAustin5@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

 

Hannah

Matatyaho

hmatatyaho@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

Sara

BaezRodriguez

SBaezRodriguez@schools.nyc.gov

Science

 

Bianca

Megaro

bmegaro@schools.nyc.gov

Talent

John

Baglione

JBaglione@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

 

Caroline

Meneses

CMeneses2@schools.nyc.gov

Administration

Steven

Bates

SBates@schools.nyc.gov

Physical Education

 

Tomasz

Michalowicz

TMichal@schools.nyc.gov

Math

Elise

Biggs

EBiggs@schools.nyc.gov

Science

 

Susan

Monahan

SMonaha@schools.nyc.gov

Administration

Alyssa

Berlavski

aberlavski@schools.nyc.gov

Science

 

Annarita

Napolitano

ANapolitano2@schools.nyc.gov

Social Studies

Joseph

Botta

jbotta3@schools.nyc.gov

Student Support

 

Daryl

Narain

DNarain@schools.nyc.gov

Science

Houda

Boujida

hboujida2@schools.nyc.gov

Science

 

Kristen

Noy

KNoy@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

Cherie

Buehre

CBuehre@schools.nyc.gov

Math

 

Shoko

Obata

SObata@schools.nyc.gov

Administration

Vincent

Candela

VCandela@schools.nyc.gov

Physical Education

 

Scott

Opell

SOpell@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

Ebony

Cochran

ECochran2@schools.nyc.gov

Student Support

 

Joseline

Ortega

jortega23@schools.nyc.gov

World Language

Denise

Collin

DCollin4@schools.nyc.gov

Social Studies

 

Elizabeth

Payen

epayen@schools.nyc.gov

Social Studies

William

Collins

WCollin@schools.nyc.gov

Math

 

Frajan

Payne

FPayne@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

Iris

Colome Del Rio

IColomedelrio@schools.nyc.gov

Student Support

 

Milton

Pon

mpon@schools.nyc.gov

Social Studies

Michelle

Colon

MColon36@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

 

Julia

Ramirez

JRamirez25@schools.nyc.gov

World Language

Myriam

Cruz Morante

MCruzmorante@schools.nyc.gov

World Language

 

Mary

Randolph

MRandolph2@schools.nyc.gov

Math

Jacqueline

Datorre

JDatorre@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

 

Kaitlin

Rees

krees100@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

Hannah

Dolan

HDolan@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

 

Ana

Restrepo

ARestrepo2@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

Rose

Destefano

RDestefano3@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

 

Anna

Rizzo

arizzo17@schools.nyc.gov

Math

Alexis

Egan

aegan5@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

 

Taryn

Rosenberg

TRosenberg4@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

Joanna

Feliz

JFeliz4@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

 

Avram

Rosner

ARosner@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

Steven

Gaffan

SGaffan2@schools.nyc.gov

Social Studies

 

Andrea

Rothbort

ARothbort@schools.nyc.gov

Related Services

John

Gavilanes

JGavilanes@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

 

Michael

Royer

MRoyer@schools.nyc.gov

Math

Jenelle

Gilkes

JGilkes@schools.nyc.gov

Talent

 

Christophe

Ruffus

CRuffus@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

Colleen

Glenn

CGlenn@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

 

Amie

Ruiz

ARuiz28@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

Melissa

Goldstein

MGoldstein5@schools.nyc.gov

Student Support

 

Brandon

Swartz

bswartz@schools.nyc.gov

Social Studies

Olga

Gomez

OGomez@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

 

Carol

Tong

CTong2@schools.nyc.gov

ENL

John

Greggo

JGreggo@schools.nyc.gov

Administration

 

Theodora

Tsourovakas

TTsourovakas@schools.nyc.gov

Social Studies

Adriana

Grzywacz

-zastaw

AGrzywaczZastaw2@schools.nyc.gov

Talent

 

Tamara

Vogel

TVogel@schools.nyc.gov

ELA

Nirmala

Hiralal

NHiralal@schools.nyc.gov

Related Services

 

Xiaolei

Wang

XWang13@schools.nyc.gov

Talent

Enmei

He

ehe3@schools.nyc.gov

World Language

 

Caren

Wright-shilling

CWrightShilling@schools.nyc.gov

Talent

Nina

Johnson

NJohnson18@schools.nyc.gov

Special Education

 

Bajes

Zeideia

BZeideia@schools.nyc.gov

Physical Education

         

Elise

Zeitlin

ezeitli@schools.nyc.gov

Math

         

Xiaoyan

Zheng

xzheng6@schools.nyc.gov

Math

 

PTA/SLT Elections 

We need your  HELP! 

We will hold an election for PTA Executive Board for the 2022-2023 school year on September 21st at 7 PM The election will be conducted by the D28 Family Leadership Coordinator, Ms. Rueda. The vacant positions are as follows:

  • PTA President ( S)
  • PTA Recording Secretary(s) 
  • 4 Seats for SLT (School Leadership Team) parent position

Nominations will be taken from the floor. Please join us for this important meeting of this school year. Register by submitting the form below in advance to participate.

PTA/ SLT Elections registration form 

 

Please visit our website to see the roles and responsibilities. 

 

Parent Workshop - Learn how you can support your child

Welcome back to school! Join us to learn what's new in the 2022- 2023 school year! We will navigate families and discuss how to support your child academically and socially. The 8th grade guidance counselor will be joining us to update you on how we support the High School Application Process. ( Please note that  HS application workshop will be hold as we have more information) 

 

Date: September 16 , 2022

Time: 10 AM - 11:30 AM

Location : Auditorium or RM 205  ( in-Person) , Zoom ( virtual) - you will receive a link after registering

Register here to attend 

 

Staff Office hours & Extra Activities 

Teachers office hours are available for students to receive extra support and participates following activities: 

  • Extra Help by Department ( Find locations below)
  • Board Games ( Room 152)
  • Library (Room 254)
  • Weight Training ( Basement next to Cafeteria) 
  • Yoga & Morning Meditation ( Auditorium) 
  • Intramural Basketball (Gym)

 

For Parents/Guardians: Teachers are available for families to discuss students’ progress / their concerns during AM / PM Parent Outreach hours. 

2022-2023 TEACHER OFFICE HOURS

MORNING - 7:30 - 8:00 am

MONDAY

TUESDAY

WEDNESDAY

THURSDAY

FRIDAY

1st Floor:Buehre & Gomez

2nd Floor:Amster & Ortega

3rd Floor:Ledesma

1st Floor:Beauzil & Gomez

2nd Floor:Allen & Ortega 

3rd Floor:Ledesma

1st Floor:Buehre & Rees

2nd Floor:Allen & Ortega 

3rd Floor: Ledesma

1st Floor:Beauzil & Buehre

2nd Floor:Amster

3rd Floor:Rees

1st Floor:Beauzil & Gomez

2nd Floor:Allen & Amster

3rd Floor: Ledesma & Rees

Cafe - Breakfast


Board Games - Rm. 152

Austin & Ramirez

Library Open Access

Wright

Weight Training-Rm.WR

Bates 

Yoga & Morning Med.

Tong

Cafe - Breakfast


Board Games - Rm. 152

Austin & Ramirez

Library Open Access

Wright

Weight Training-Rm.WR

Gaffan

Yoga & Morning Med.

Tong

Cafe - Breakfast


Board Games - Rm. 152

Ramirez

Library Open Access

Wright

Weight Training-Rm.WR

Bates

Yoga & Morning Med.

Destefano & Tong

Intramural Basketball

Gavilanes

Cafe - Breakfast


Board Games - Rm. 152

Ramirez & Noy

Library Open Access

Wright

Weight Training-Rm.WR

Gaffan

Yoga & Morning Med.

Destefano

Intramural Basketball

Gavilanes

Cafe - Breakfast


Board Games - Rm. 152

Austin & Noy 

Weight Training-Rm.WR

Bates, Gaffan & Vogel

Yoga & Morning Med.

Destefano 

Intramural Basketball

Gavilanes

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

7-Egan-Rm 301

8-Rosner-Rm.230

ENL:

Kim-Rm.342A

Math:

6-Gavilanes-Rm.105

7-Zeitlin-Rm.220

8-Restrepo-Rm.323

8-Rizzo-Rm.323

Science:

6-Allen-Rm.103

7-Beauzil-Rm. 254

8-Biggs-Rm.329

Science Lab Support

8-Boujida-Rm.315

Social Studies:

7-Opell-Rm.350

8-Johnson-Rm.340

Talent:

Megaro-Rm.305

Zastawny-Rm.B68

World Language:

Spanish-Ramirez Rm.209

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

6-Rees-Rm.130

8-Rosner-Rm.230

ENL:

Kim-Rm.342A

Math:

6-Buehre-Rm.101

7-Zeitlin-Rm.220

8-Michalowicz-Rm. 331

8-Rizzo-Rm.323

Science:

6-Kadin-Rm.143

8-Destefano-Rm.328

8-Boujida-Rm.315

Science Lab Support

8-Biggs-Rm.329

Social Studies:

7-Napolitano-Rm343

8-Pon - Rm. 241

Talent:

Megaro - Rm.305

Wang - Rm.307

Zastawny - Rm.B68

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

7-Baglione-Rm. 243B

8-Rosner-Rm.230

ENL:

Kim-Rm.342A

Math:

7-Anwar-Rm. 220

8-Michalowicz-Rm 331

Science:

6-Kadin-Rm.143

8-Biggs-Rm.329

Science Lab Support:

Social Studies:

7-Gaffan-Rm.211

7-Egan-Rm 301

8-Pon-Rm.241

Talent:

Wang-Rm.307

Zastawny-Rm.B68

World Language:

Amster-Spanish-

Rm. 202

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

7-8-Austin-Rm. 240

ENL:

Tong-Rm.342B

Math:

6-Gomez-Rm.102

7-Zeitlin-Rm.220

8-Michalowicz-Rm. 331

8-Rizzo-Rm.323

Science:

6-Kadin-Rm.143

8-Biggs-Rm.329

Science Lab Support

8-Boujida-Rm.315

Social Studies:

7-Egan-Rm 301

8-Pon-Rm.241

Talent:

Wang-Rm.307

Zastawny-Rm.B68

World Language:

Spanish-Ortega-

Rm.204

P.E.: Bates - Rm. Gym

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

6 - Dolan-Rm 141A

7-Egan-Rm 301

8-Rosner-Rm.230

ENL:

Kim-Rm.342A

Math:

7-Zeitlin-Rm.220

8-Michalowicz-Rm. 331

8-Rizzo-Rm.323

Science:

7-8-Payne-Rm.254

Science Lab Support

6-Kadin-Rm 143

8-Boujida-Rm 315

Social Studies:

6-Datorre-Rm.128

8-Pon-Rm.241

Talent:

Megaro-Rm.305

Wang-Rm.307

Parent Outreach

Anwar

Destefano

Gaffan

Kadin

Michalowicz

Pon

Rees

Wang

Parent Outreach:

Amster

Bates

Egan

Gavilanes

Opell

Restrepo

Parent Outreach:

Austin

Beauzil

Boujida

Gomez

Megaro

Payne

Rizzo

Zeitlin

Parent Outreach:

Baglione

Datorre

Johnson

Kim

Ledesma

Megaro

Rosner

Allen

Parent Outreach:

Biggs

Buehre

Ortega

Tong

Napolitano

Ramirez

Wright

Zastawny

 

AFTERNOON - 2:20 - 2:50 pm

MONDAY

TUESDAY

WEDNESDAY

THURSDAY

FRIDAY

Weight Training Rm. Weight Room

Zeideia

Weight Training - Rm. Weight Room

Zeideia

Broadway Junior  Rm. 141A - 

Dolan

Weight Training Rm.Weight Room Zeideia

   

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

6-Dolan-Rm.141A

6-Rees-Rm.130

7-Noy-Rm.302

7-Kurre-Rm.318

8-Vogel-Rm.320

Math:

6-Rosenberg-Rm.243A

7-Randolph-Rm.218

Science:

6/7-Ruffus-Rm.228

7-Baez-Rm. 250

Social Studies:

6-Collin-Rm.118

8-Payen-Rm.341

World Language:

Spanish-Morante-Rm.201

PE:

Candela-Rm.WeightRoom

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

6-Rees-Rm.130

6-Colon-Rm. 104

7-Glenn-Rm.301

7-Kurre-Rm.318

8-Vogel-Rm.320

Math:

6-Rosenberg-Rm.243A

7-Randolph-Rm.218

Science:

6/7-Ruffus-Rm.228

7-BaezRodriguez-Rm. 250

Social Studies:

6-Collin-Rm.118

8-Payen-Rm.341

World Language:

Spanish-Morante-Rm.201

PE:

Candela-Rm.WeightRoom

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

6-Rees-Rm.130

6-Ruiz-Rm.141A

7-Glenn-Rm.301

7-Noy-Rm.302

Math:

6-Royer-Rm.102

7-Randolph-Rm.218

7-Zheng-Rm.330

8-Collins-Rm.330

Science:

8-Narain-Rm.317

Social Studies:

6-Collin-Rm.118

6-Swartz-Rm.120

8-Arabachian-Rm. 340

World Language:

Mandarin-He-Rm.103

PE:

Candela Rm.Weight Room

Talent:
Gilkes - Rm.311

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

6-Colon-Rm. 104

6-Ruiz-Rm.141A

7-Glenn-Rm.301

7-Kurre-Rm.318

Math:

6-Royer-Rm.102

7-Zheng-Rm.330

8-Collins-Rm.330

Science:

7-Baez-Rm. 250

8-Narain-Rm.317

Social Studies:

6-Swartz-Rm.120

8-Arabachian-Rm. 340

8-Payen-Rm.341

World Language:

Spanish-Morante-Rm.201

Mandarin - He Rm.103

Talent:
Gilkes - Rm.311

Student Extra Help:

ELA:

6-Colon-Rm. 104

6-Ruiz-Rm.141A

7-Kurre-Rm.318

Math:

6-Royer-Rm.102

6-Rosenberg- Rm.243A

7-Zheng-Rm.330

8-Collins-Rm.330

Science:

6/7-Ruffus-Rm.228

8-Narain-Rm.317

Social Studies:

6-Swartz-Rm.120

8-Arabachian-Rm. 340

World Language:

Mandarin - He- Rm.103

Talent:
Gilkes - Rm.311

 

Device Support

If parents / guardians would like to request a device for their child or if students are currently in possession of a DOE-issued device but it needs a repair,  please fill out this request form

 

Students can pick up an iPad in Room 205 on Wednesday or Thursday ONLY during 4th period.  This form must be submitted in advance by a guardian.

 

If your DOE-issued device  does not come with Keyboard,  you can also submit this form to request a new case

.  

 If you have any questions, contact Mrs. Obata - email at sobata@schools.nyc.gov or call 718-830-4970 ext. 1561

To learn about the school device, visit DOE Website : https://www.schools.nyc.gov/learning/digital-learning/ipads-and-laptops/your-doe-loaned-ipad-or-laptop 


Submit : Device Support Request 

 

NYCstudents.net: Password Reset Option

There are three different ways you can reset your DOE students account password:

1. Reset it yourself through the Student Self-Service tool.

 To use https://selfservice.schools.nyc/ , you must have created a PIN or set up security questions. 

  1. Ask your parent/ guardian to reset it through NYCSA.

. If parents /guardians  don’t have a NYCSA account, set up today. Contact Mrs. Obata to request an account creation code. 

  1. Ask your grade guidance counselor to reset password. 

 

Gym Uniform- Order online

Visit WWW.SMOOTHUSA.COM/JHS190Q .

 

Redistricting Town Hall on Wednesday

RSVP to Queens Borough President Office's Special Events



Six Weeks to Family Fitness Program

Back to Top

Visit the website at https://www.bodysculpt.org/six-weeks-to-fitness to learn more.

Parent Workshop- LEARN HOW YOU CAN SUPPORT YOUR CHILD

Join us for our first parent workshop to learn how you can support your child for this school year. 

Date: Tuesday, September 20

Time: 6PM – 7PM.

Location : Zoom

Register here to join the meeting. 

Click here - Presentation slides for you to review .